The story of Maison is a richly historical one, dating back to 1464, when turner manufacture was in operation. Following the 1686 siege of the Castle, Bernát Spiegel purchased the building in ruins in 1701 and built a one-story, Baroque style house on top. From this point on, it was known as the “Spiegel House”, a famous bakery. The arched front gate is adorned with the bakery’s insignia to this day, mirroring its original form. Underneath the building is a two-story cellar, which remains the largest contiguous cellar in the Castle.
In 1964, the building was turned into a restaurant and bar named ‘Régi Országház Étterem’, becoming Budapest’s most popular nightclub, still preserving the Baroque frontage. The differing styles of the rooms, graceful furniture, tilled stoves, the traditional Hungarian food, and the wine offering in the cellar along with the famous lard and onion breads ensured the lively ambiance of the Castle district up until the early 90s.
After 20 years, the big, green gate of the former Spiegel House opens to the public again as the Castan Gastronomic Group’s Maison bistro & hotel. The individual design pays homage to the rich historical and gastronomical past of the building. Our charming Bistro, enchanting wine cellar, pleasant street terrace, 17 individually designed room and internal garden courtyard awaits our guests.Gallery